Q4, FY 2020-21, IIC Meeting, Feb 9, 2021
09 Feb 2021


The Ministry of Human Resource Development in 2019, released the National Innovation and Startup Policy 2019 for students and faculty of Higher Education Institutions (HEIs). The Policy is in line with the focus of the Central Government on entrepreneurial projects. The framework was created to enable the institutes to actively engage students, faculties and staff in innovation and entrepreneurship related activities. The Guidelines on National Innovation & Startup policy 2019 were published to provide required direction and support in handling Innovation Startup and Intellectual Property rights related issues.

The framework designed to facilitate the Ministry of Human Resource Development in bringing uniformity across HEIs in terms of Intellectual Property ownership management, technology licensing and institutional Startup policy, thus enabling creation of a robust innovation and Start up ecosystem across all HEIs.

Innovation and Entrepreneurship must emerge as one of the focal points of today’s education system with focus on creation of economic hubs so that the nation aspires to become a five trillion-dollar economy in the near future. To achieve this milestone, systems and mechanisms must evolve to convert the present demographic dividends into high quality technical human resources, which could eventually create wealth generation hubs through Startups and entrepreneurship.

Major Focus Areas

  • To create a vibrant local innovation ecosystem.
  • Start-up/ entrepreneurship supporting Mechanism in HEIs.
  • Prepare institute for Atal Ranking of Institutions on Innovation Achievements Framework (ARIIA).
  • Establish Function Ecosystem for Scouting Ideas and Pre-incubation of Ideas.
  • Develop better Cognitive Ability amongst Technology Students.


  • To conduct various innovation and entrepreneurship-related activities prescribed by Central MIC in time bound fashion.
  • Identify and reward innovations and share success stories.
  • Organize periodic workshops/ seminars/ interactions with entrepreneurs, investors, professionals and create a mentor pool for student innovators.
  • Network with peers and national entrepreneurship development organizations.
  • Create an Institution’s Innovation portal to highlight innovative projects carried out by institution’s faculty and students.
  • Organize Hackathons, idea competition, mini-challenges etc. with the involvement of industries.

Minutes of Meeting

  • Minutes of the meeting of 1st Institution‘s Innovation Council Meeting, 9th Feb, 2021
    09 Feb 2021

Institute’s Innovation Council

The Institute’s Innovation Council at IIT Hyderabad will comprise of following members

1. Staff Representation

S. No. Position Name & Designation
1.1 President Prof. B. S. Murty, Director, IITH
1.2 Convenor/Vice President Prof. Kiran Kuchi, Dean (R&D), IITH
1.3 Innovation Activity Coordinator Dr. Sumohana Channappayya, Former Dean (R&D), IITH
1.4 Startup Activity Coordinator Prof. S. Surya Kumar, Faculty-in-Charge, Incubation Centre, IITH
1.5 Internship Coordinator Dr. Abhinav Kumar, Faculty-in-Charge, Office of Career Services
1.6 IPR coordinator Dr. Pradeep Kumar Yemula, Faculty-in-Charge, IP Cell
1.7 ARIIA coordinator Dr. Priyotosh Bandyopadhyay, ARIIA Coordinator
1.8 NIRF coordinator Prof. Vinod Janadhanan, NIRF Coordinator
1.9 Innovation Ambassador Prof. Deepak John Mathew, Head, Dept. of Design
1.10 Innovation Ambassador Dr. Mudrika Khandewal, Associate Professor, Dept. of MSME
1.11 Social Media Coordinator/ Secretary Mrs. Mitalee Agrawal, Public Relations Officer, IITH

2. Expert Representation

S. No. Position Name & Designation
2.1 IP Expert / Patent Expert Mr. Ganta Sankara Rao, Patent Analyst, IITH
2.2 Startup / Alumni Entrepreneur Mr. M. Sai Kiran, CEO, Founderr (SK IOT)
2.3 Expert from nearby Industry / Industry association/ Ecosystem Enabler Mr. Vinay Chilakapati (CEO, Innomet Advanced Materials Pvt. Ltd.)
2.4 FI/ Bank Investor/ Angel Investor/ VC Mr. Reehan Shaik, Bank Manager, Canara Bank, IITH Branch, Ex-officio
2.5 Incubation Centre Dr. Siva Rama Krishna Vanjari, Faculty-in-Charge, FabCI

3. Student Representation

S. No. Position Name & Designation
3.1 Startup Activity Coordinator Mr. Vaibhav Kumar, Head, E Cell
3.2 Innovation Activity Coordinator Mr. Sunny Mane, Science &Technology Secretary, Student Gymkhana
3.3 Internship Coordinator Mr. Krutik Mehta, BTech 3rd Year, IITH
3.4 IPR Coordinator Mr. Gaddam Akhileswar Chowdary, MTech 2nd year, IITH
3.5 Social Media Coordinator Mr. Dasari Ujjwal, Media Secretary, Student Gymkhana
3.6 General Member Mr. Priyabrata Rautray, PhD Scholar, Dept. of Design